The last time I woke up to find someone was dead it was Princess Diana.  The streets of London were filled with grieving people for weeks afterwards.

I don’t know what happened in London today but in Washington DC and New York City there were scenes of jubilation.

I was a little uncomfortable with this but I am not a New Yorker or indeed American so I can’t possibly know what it felt like after 9/11.  In fact at the time I was on a cruise ship in the middle of the Mediterranean.  This is not as grand as it sounds but it did mean that to a great extent we were sheltered from the wall to wall news coverage of that awful day.  Actually I don’t think I saw pictures of the planes hitting The Twin Towers until the anniversary programmes on the TV.

I love the USA. We have visited Washington DC and New York City and loved them both. I find the people friendly and helpful and apart from my own home NYC is the only place I would choose to be.  The notion of the American Dream captures hearts all over the world.

But no one can accuse Americans of lacking in confidence.  Sometimes to the reserved Brit that pride can appear to tip over into arrogance.  At least that’s what I thought, but today via our news coverage, I began to understand that this confidence is such a part of the American psyche that being infiltrated by outsiders really rocked the country.  It’s only now that they’ve finally got their man that pride has been restored.

Here in The United Kingdom we really aren’t so United.  Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland all fight to retain their own identity and many people I know insist that they are English.  For my part I would rather be British but them I’m inclusive by nature.

All this individuality makes being proud of our country a little complicated.  Should I be proud to be English or British or both?

In any event we are all pleased that the Bin Laden is dead and here’s what has been going round in my head all day

I’m off to ponder whether I’m proud.

