My friends Jacquie and Mike have come back from a holiday in New York City today.  They had a great time.  I haven’t spoken to them yet but I know they had a great time because we’ve had daily reports from over the pond via Facebook.

The internet is a wonderful thing.  How great it was to live their holiday with them and  to see their photos within hours of them being taken. Digital photography – now that’s another fantastic thing.

This leads me in a roundabout way to The Big Day, because of course, If you happened to miss any of it you can see it again via the Web.

I actually wasn’t going to talk about the wedding again today but it has loomed so large that I couldn’t really avoid it.

I watched most of it and got completely sucked in.  I’m not a cynic by any stretch of the imagination so I’m easy game for anything like this.

By Peter Macdiarmid/Getty Images

I thought Kate’s dress was beautiful but for sheer elegance you couldn’t beat Pippa Middleton’s Maid of Honour frock.  The younger bridesmaids looked cute and you’ve got to love little Grace Van Cutsem who was obviously not having fun.  This picture is going to come back to haunt her when she’s older.

All in all it was a great day.  The sun shone, the crowds cheered and waved flags – boy did they wave flags!!  Does it make me proud to be British?  I’m not sure that proud is the right word really but I can’t think of a better one.

Certainly it can’t do the UK any harm for people around the world to see us all smiling and cheering and I can see why it would do wonders for tourism.  I certainly believe that our Royal Family brings in the visitors.

It was clear that everyone lining the route had a brilliant day and although I can’t imagine ever standing in the street and waving a Union Flag I do appreciate the emotional impact of a huge cheering crowd.

I was going to set up another page when I started these daily writings and call it The Daily Drudge but then I realised that if I referred to it as a drudge it would become just that.  My life can be a drudge sometimes but almost every day there is something to cheer me.  Smile and the world smiles with you.

It certainly smiled with us today.

