Well I had a week off from the day job last week and was hoping to spend lots of time working on my book.  Problem was I also intended to decorate our sitting room and that took precedence.  

The decorating was finished on Thursday and I must say I am pleased with the results.

One of the little nuggets of advice I remember from the early days of my novel was the suggestion that you should try to write every day even if  it’s only for 10 minutes or so.  When it comes to my novel this doesn’t seem to work for me.

I bought myself a beautiful new note-book with the intention of writing long hand.  I thought I could craft a couple of paragraphs in my lunch hour or whilst I was sat in the front of the TV.    Now although I don’t pretend to have anything like a razor-sharp brain, it still works at a faster pace than I am able to write.  So whilst all the passages in the book start off very neatly they quickly become illegible as my pen struggles to keep up with my thoughts. 

So it’s a computer keyboard for me and I find I really can’t be bothered to sit myself at my desk (well actually the kitchen table) unless I am in for the long haul.

So this is a long-winded way of saying that after a day up the ladder I didn’t feel like getting down to writing a couple of paragraphs and after a day at the office I feel much the same.

I will keep my note-book by my side in case inspiration strikes but otherwise I think I will leave the novel writing to the weekends when I can set myself up with a cup of tea, some background music and a good few hours to spare when I can immerse myself into the lives of the characters that are fast becoming my friends.

Week nights I will stick to spending an hour or so, perhaps writing a quick blog, or maybe catching up with all the other great writer’s blogs out there.

Happy writing everyone.

Who is the man in the park? 

