So here’s a poser for you. 

When can you call yourself a writer?

I am the author of this piece of prose that you are now reading so does that make me a writer? 

In Write a Novel and get it Published Nigel Watts describes a succesful novelist as one who has finished a project that is recognizably a novel.  In saying this he is acknowledging that to write over 50,000 words and arrange them into a cohesive whole that has a beginning middle and end is,in itself, an achievement.  

On the other hand Jennifer Weiner says ‘If a writer writes poems and short stories and novels, but nobody ever reads them, is she really a writer? Nope…You’ve got to put your stuff out there for the world to see, and fall in love with, or revile. In short, you’ve got to get published.’

So this is out there for you to see.

Am I a writer? – possibly. 

Am I a novelist? – most definitely not… but I hope to be one day.

